Thread: Newbie Tree Disease? Question

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie Tree Disease? Question

I have noticed that alot of the trees on our property appear to be unhealthy (to my completely untrained eye). They have alot of moss/algrea looking growth on them and several are clearly dead.

I am a complete newb in regards to tree care, any suggestions are appreciated. I am hopefully attaching a few photos I snapped of a couple of the trees, can someone tell me what this appears to be and if it is in fact a disease. If so, how would I go about caring for the trees to "cure" them of this. Many of the trees on the property have this appearance

thanks in advance
    r
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img00907_sm_170.jpg 
Views:	7290 
Size:	17.6 KB 
ID:	1129   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img00910_small_533.jpg 
Views:	7284 
Size:	19.4 KB 
ID:	1130   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	7278 
ID:	2674   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	7280 
ID:	2675   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	7284 
ID:	4219  

Click image for larger version. 

Views:	7283 
ID:	4220  

Oak

RE: Newbie Tree Disease? Question

That's lichen on the trunks, IMO. And lichen on trunks does not necessarily mean 'diseased'. It may be coincidental, or thicker than usual from tree being weakend by something else (?). I find lichen on thick older bark frequently, like on Oaks and elms around *here*. But not often on young/thin bark such as pic'd. Is that a beech maybe?? Most Maples I see have linear striations, not circumferential - however, OK is not noted for a wide variety of Maples, LOL

I don't think what you are seeing is actually all that worrisome in and of itself. I am not highly familiar with that species of tree myself, and am not familiar with that area at all. That's about all I can offer myself right now - sorry

I am sure others can help more here shortly...

Alex

Oak