PDA

View Full Version : I am a tree planting Rookie... can anyone help me?

TreeWillie2
01-30-2005, 07:36 PM
:D Hi, I am new to this forum and I need some help. I just moved onto some new land. I have never planted a tree nor maintained a tree or shrub in my life... I am excited about planting my first tree. I have many projects planned but want to plant according to my budget. I first need to understand what i have to work with and what steps need to be taken first. I keep getting different directions on how to plant trees... on this site they say use your same soil... on HGTV and other places like at lowe's and at nurseries I am hearing that I need to use root stimulators and organic soil and fertilizer to help the tree grow. well what is the best advice...?
I have many more questions...........so get ready experts in the room.

Toronado3800
01-31-2005, 03:37 AM
Willie, two years ago I bought my house and caught the planting bug.

The arbor day instructions say just plant your tree back in the soil you removed from the hole. By the time I pluck out the grass and loose some it seems I always have to add dirt from some place else in the yard or from a bag of top soil. I also read fertilizing new trees is usually more of a hinderance as it can "burn" the roots, whatever that is.

Maybe if you have your soil tested and it shows a defeciency in Nitrogen or something you can fertilize to make up for this after the tree has been around a couple years. I also like the idea of whatever isn't hardy enough just dying while its small before I spend the next ten years babying the things only to have to take my sawzall out when I can't afford to fertilize the monsters.

I found out Corn won't grow well w/o fertilizer but its a one year plant.

Quirky Quercus
01-31-2005, 09:04 AM
This is quite possibly the best tree planting guide I've ever seen, Go here http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/EP112